Eurosmart gathers global technology providers with a strong expertise in the management of digital security within hostile environments. All its members have common European roots and take pride in their support to the achievement of the European Union’s Digital Single Market. They joined the association to help carrying the voice of the digital security industry, and are committed to ensuring that Europe builds on their worldwide leadership and expertise. Eurosmart is based in Brussels where it has a permanent office for over twenty years.

Our Vision

Eurosmart aims to enhance the usability of services in the connected world, by promoting security technologies designed to combat fraud and safely manage digital identities while protecting consumers and citizens’ right for privacy.

Our Mission

Eurosmart advocates the use of hardware with strong security functions. The association expresses recommendations on the best ways to secure content, and supports the deployment of certified and standardized solutions that integrate security and privacy by design features. In addition to its activities in standardisation and market analysis, Eurosmart has a specific interest in the European Union’s policies on digital security. It carefully monitors legislative initiatives in this area, and reaches out to institutional and non-institutional stakeholders for information and awareness purposes.

Our Structure

  • General Structure


  • Board

    The Board (composed of the President, the Vice-Presidents, and the Treasurer, with the support of the Director of Operations) acts by mandate of the Council in order to ensure the Association official representation and efficiency in application of decisions.


    Stefane Mouille (Cabinet Louis Reynaud)


    Gisela Meister (G+D Mobile Security)
    John Boggie (NXP)
    Alban Feraud (IDEMIA)
    Detlef Houdeau (Infineon)
    Philippe Proust (Gemalto)

    Martin Schaffer (SGS)

    Director of Operations
    Pierre-Jean Verrando






  • Council

    The Council (formerly the Steering Committee) is the driving force of the association. It gathers the representatives of all Executive members as well as the Committee Directors.


  • Committees & Task Forces

    Committees are ad hoc groups of subject-matter experts working together and sharing expertise on topics of common interest. Task Forces are groups created for a limited period of time and a very specific objective. Both are detailed in the Expertise section of the website. 

  • General Assembly

    The General Assembly receives reports on the Council’s activities, approves the accounts of the preceding financial year, votes the budget for the coming financial year, sets the amounts of annual fees, elects or dismisses, should the need arise, the members of the Council and debates all the items on the agenda.

  • Brussels Office

    The Brussels Office is mainly in charge of the management of the association and its various bodies. It is led by the Director of Operations who is responsible for the smooth functioning of the association, including internal communication and alignment between members; the preparation and follow-up of budget and administrative affairs; and the recruitment of new members.

    It is also tasked to monitor EU regulatory and policy developments that affect smart card and semiconductor manufacturers. It advises members on policy positions and priority actions and develops communication campaigns and tools to promote the association's views. 

    More information on the members of the Brussels office is available here.